A week of sheer agony

Not wanting to rain on anyone’s parade, but this week is going to be insufferable as we reach saturation coverage of the wedding of Prince William and Catherine Middleton.

I am happy for any young couple who are in love and choose to enter into the union of marriage.  I wish them every happiness.  However the Royal Wedding does not interest me in the slightest.  It’s not that I have anything against the happy couple, it’s just that I don’t know them and they’re not friends of mine.

It sets my teeth on edge happening across the overblown hype about the wedding, or rather being bombarded by it.  We’ve had so much of it, from the Daily Mail splashing a piece saying Britain Loves Kate on the basis of a survey of 1029 people to this morning’s BBC1 programme ‘When Royals Wed‘ with those seasoned Royal watchers Lesley Garrett and Larry Lamb. I can’t even escape it at work as there will be bunting, flags and even cut outs of the couple on display in the canteen. It goes on with literally thousands of derivative articles online and more programmes planned for screening this week.  The problem is, I just don’t care but I have to suffer it.  I’m afraid the Royals simply don’t mean anything to me. It’s obviously nothing personal because I’ve never even met them.

Thankfully the neighbours laughed at the idea of a street party, preferring instead to use the extra Bank Holiday to do something with their own families rather than fawn over one with which they have no connection.  So at least this little corner of the world can remain a wedding-free zone.

11 Responses to “A week of sheer agony”


  1. 1 Dave H 25/04/2011 at 10:38 am

    At least it doesn’t conflict with Dr Who. Having to rearrange my schedule so as not to miss the good Doctor would be insufferable. As for the rest of TV, I rarely watch, so most of this week’s crap will pass me by. I remember his father getting married, it was the day after I passed my driving test so I got to go out and drive on my own on almost-empty roads.

  2. 2 bil 25/04/2011 at 11:05 am

    With you. Worked on the day of his parents wedding, back in the UK on Friday but a walk in the Dorset countryside booked.

  3. 3 Uncle Badger 25/04/2011 at 12:09 pm

    Perhaps one gets sourer as the years pass? I’ve lived through countless royal weddings but for some reason this strikes me as the most cloying yet. Could it be the ghost of Diana, Princess of Mawk, returning to haunt us?

    Like you, AM, I feel no animus towards these two people but I also feel entirely unconnected to them – or, sadly, to the institution of which they are to become a key part.

    Had Elizabeth II raised her voice against the treason committed by our political classes during her reign, I might have felt otherwise. But the calculated dismantling of our relationships with the Anglosphere, the wanton destruction of what the Empire might have become and, of course, above all, the treason committed by Edward Heath and his successors as they delivered the country to its idealogical (and in some cases literal) enemies in Europe, all passed without a hint of opposition.

    What use is a monarchy if it will not rally its own people to the defence of the realm?

    Pace Sellar and Yeatman I’d have to conclude: ‘a pointless queen’.

  4. 4 PT 25/04/2011 at 12:46 pm

    Spot on. They don’t know me, I don’t know them – not even to exchange Christmas cards. He seems a decent enough bloke, with a worthwhile, responsible job, and she seems nice enough. Like many another young couple. And, truth to tell, if that were allowed in this country, I imagine that’s how most people feel about it.

  5. 5 kenomeat 25/04/2011 at 1:40 pm

    Any respect or interest I had in the royal family evaporated when the Queen gave royal consent to the Lisbon Treaty.

  6. 6 Uncle Badger 25/04/2011 at 2:39 pm

    Oh, dear! “idealogical” indeed! My apologies and… any chance of a preview facility, please, AM?

  7. 8 Martin Brumby 25/04/2011 at 7:13 pm

    I am totally indifferent to the Windsors except for Chuckles, who is a 24 carat arsehole.

    When HE got married I drove to Lincoln and went round the Cathedral. I’m not religious but fascinated by medieval architecture & engineering.

    Hardly a car on the road and had the Cathedral to ourselves.

    It will be interesting to see if there are more non-participants this year.

  8. 9 John E Payne 26/04/2011 at 8:56 pm

    There was a time when I respected the Royal Family, but when the Queen gave her consent to the Lisbon Treaty without giving her so called subjects a chance of a referendum I realised they are all useless. The Queen had well over 100,000 signatures asking for a referendum but decided to ignore every one of them. The Queen signed an oath to protect her subjects and she would have not been out of line to ask parliament to give her subjects a chance to decide their view on the Lisbon Treaty by a referendum before signing, she did not even bother.

    If she does not have the power or will to protect her sovereignty and her subjects then the whole thing, including the Royal wedding this week is a big political deception and a waste of time.

  9. 10 Stuart M 26/04/2011 at 9:02 pm

    Indeed! Well said!
    The best news I had all week was that it’s going to rain on Friday.
    That should put a dampener on the whole event
    Think I might go hillwalking with the kids to be well away from it!

  10. 11 Clunking Fist 29/04/2011 at 3:32 am

    Ha, great vid, Fay.


Comments are currently closed.



Enter your email address below

The Harrogate Agenda Explained

Email AM

Bloggers for an Independent UK

AM on Twitter

STOR Scandal

Autonomous Mind Supports