No, I’m British

Just have a read of this paragraph from an article in European Voice.

It’s about the European Union drawing up a contingency plan for an armed humanitarian intervention in Libya (I know, I laughed too). But stop and think about the language being used:

The ongoing evacuation of EU citizens in Libya is a member state responsibility, with the EU in a supporting role through its Monitoring and Information Centre (MIC), which was activated yesterday. The EU has no embassy in Tripoli and relies on the member states for information. The European External Action Service said that the number of EU citizens still in Libya was unknown, while the Commission put the number at 5,000-6,000. According to the Commission, around 5,000 EU nationals have already left Libya.

EU Citizens, EU nationals… it’s all so casual.  Like the EU itself, these are artificial constructs.  Yet this is what has been done to us by Brussels and our Westminster quislings without our permission.

I’m not an EU citizen and I’m not an EU national. The EU is not a state and it is not a nation, despite the pretences of the bureaucrats.  I’m a British Subject (until such time as the Monarchy ends) update… in the comments folk have corrected me vis a vis the 1981 Nationality Act. No one asked me if I agreed to be designated in this way, I wasn’t given a vote and I do not accept it. So take your flag, your little gold stars and your ode to joy and stick them right up your

22 Responses to “No, I’m British”


  1. 1 Captain Ranty 25/02/2011 at 11:05 am

    AM,

    None of us have been British Subjects since 1983.

    I have pre- and post-1983 passports. In ’83 we morphed into British Citizens.

    On 1st December 2009 we transmogrified from British Citizens to EU Citizens.

    The Lisbon Treaty says we are to describe ourselves as EU Citizens first, then British Citizens.

    550 million of us. All one big happy family.

    Didn’t you get the memo?

    CR.

  2. 2 TheBoilingFrog 25/02/2011 at 11:08 am

    AM, officially we’re British citizens as per the 1981 Nationality Act. Agree wholeheartedly with the sentiments though.

  3. 3 Bill 25/02/2011 at 11:09 am

    Classic ‘say it often enough and it becomes the truth’ behaviour modifier. The EU does it all the time as does its satellite government her in the UK economic region and the 100% controlled MSM.

    There is no need for war to get the European Union’s federal status into being it’s all being done with mind games. Far cheaper and far more effective.

  4. 4 TheBoilingFrog 25/02/2011 at 11:14 am

    Actually my previous comment has reminded me. I’ve always wondered (suspected) that the change in the legal definition in the 1981 act from subject to citizen had something to do with our membership of the EU – i.e. being a subject of a monarchy contravened the EU democracy (don’t laugh) test.

    I keep forgetting to look it up.

  5. 5 permanentexpat 25/02/2011 at 11:23 am

    What? No EU Embassy in Libya? What has CND Treasurer Baroness(why?) AShley been doing with her time…away for some plastic surgery? I am, yes, SHOCKED.
    If Brussels says you are an EU citizen, AM, then that’s what you are & you’d better get used to it
    WTF do these scum think they are.

  6. 6 Andy Baxter 25/02/2011 at 11:34 am

    *****ING unbelievable if it wasn’t in print to see….

    we are in the end game now I fear….due to spineless self serving careerist apparatchiks of politicians subserviant to the EU….

    AND

    we are alas AM EU citizens in every respect now….passports, driving licences taxed on income and consumption (VAT an EU contruct) corralled, herded, labelled, bullied, micro managed to the smallest minutiae via diktats and regulations, surveyed and catalogued (Census)under constant surveillance whether we walk drive or fly….(CCTV ANPR CHIPS in passports and internet activity)

    when will the majority wake up? are there enough intelligent free thinking people left? when will we find leaders with charisma and mass appeal who have the brass balls to take back our identity, our culture our historic traditions and liberties……

    I will never submit nor give consent….to be governed this way…and in the words of Churchill

    “Never give in, never give in, never; never; never; never – in nothing, great or small, large or petty – never give in except to convictions of honour and good sense”

  7. 7 Diogenes 25/02/2011 at 12:25 pm

    I wonder how many traditional EU supporters would slope off if opponents started routinely referring to it as the European Empire.

    Trying to argue that it’s not an empire is getting harder by the day.

  8. 8 Jeremy Poynton 25/02/2011 at 12:27 pm

    Actually, sorry to tell you, but since the Lisbon Treaty, the EU officially has statehood of its own in that it can now sign treaties on our behalf. This is according to the 1933 Montevideo Convention on the Rights and Duties of States.

    Dan H has more on this.

    http://blogs.telegraph.co.uk/news/danielhannan/100047505/the-eu-is-now-recognised-as-a-state-under-international-law/

  9. 9 WitteringWitney 25/02/2011 at 12:34 pm

    Have linked AM

  10. 10 NeilMc 25/02/2011 at 12:43 pm

    Ironic, isn’t it, that these Arab states are rising up to overthrow autocratic and unelected rulers, and the EU and European governments are supporting their aims, whilst thwarting the aims of the people of Europe to actually have governments that reflect their will.

    Any chance, Autonomous, that you could start an uprising in the UK, to overthrow our out of touch ruling class. I reckon you’d get a great response, and would probably foment revolution across Europe.

    Or have I watched Les Miserables too many times?

  11. 11 Autonomous Mind 25/02/2011 at 12:51 pm

    No, it has a legal personality. But it is not a state Jeremy.

  12. 12 Autonomous Mind 25/02/2011 at 1:03 pm

    I was only 9 in 1981 and at school we were still taught that we were British subjects. I guess that was before the self loathers got a grasp on education. So I beg you forgive me my error.

    As for Lisbon and its contents, not one Briton had a democratic say in it or voted for it and therefore I couldn’t give a flying fuck what some stuffed suit in Brussels says I should be. I am not an EU citizen.

  13. 13 Andrew Duffin 25/02/2011 at 1:20 pm

    We have a law in our country, it says that “…no foreign prince, prelate, or potentate hath, or ought to have, any jurisdiction in this realm…”

    That’s still on the Statute Book.

    And we also have a saying that the tree of freedom must be refreshed from time to time with the blood of patriots.

    It’s maybe getting near time for the latter, in order to confirm the former.

    I am not an EU citizen and never will be.

    Up theirs.

  14. 14 Lesley 25/02/2011 at 2:13 pm

    Yes to all of the above BUT I am English!
    When I write to the U.K. or G.B. I write on the card England (or Scotland) and I’m sure that our foreign post offices in the E.U. know where to send it. None of this funny stuff like Angleterre or whatever.

  15. 15 Jeremy Poynton 25/02/2011 at 2:41 pm

    Autonomous. Not so sure on that … they have Embassies now, which implies that if the EU is NOT a State, then any organisation can set up an embassy anywhere.

    Ok – stretching it, but it would seem that the EU is seen as a State by the rest of the world, in which case to all intents and purposes, it is. Certainly, it gives one far more purchase on the aims of the EU if one considers them to be a State.

  16. 16 The Gray Monk 25/02/2011 at 2:53 pm

    The Oath of Allegiance I took twenty years ago didn’t mention a President, Prime Minister or any other ‘elected’ nonentity, it did mention a certain Sovereign Lady and her ‘heirs and successors …’

  17. 17 phill 25/02/2011 at 4:02 pm

    I have no state
    The only state i have is me my family and friends

  18. 18 Jeremy Poynton 25/02/2011 at 4:17 pm

    Phill,

    So you live without totally off grid, and don’t use ANY of the services the state provides? Pretty good that. Hydro or solar used to power your PC? Or treadmill?

  19. 19 wonkotsane 25/02/2011 at 8:00 pm

    International law says that you can’t give up a citizenship unless you have another citizenship to take its place so you can’t end up stateless. I asked the Home Office how I go about renouncing my EU citizenship as I have a British citizenship already. They told me it wasn’t possible.

  20. 20 Martin Brumby 26/02/2011 at 7:11 am

    “So take your flag, your little gold stars and your ode to joy and stick them right up your ”

    I wonder if they might also find room up there for the lovely Baroness Ashton….?

  21. 21 Peter Whale 26/02/2011 at 12:34 pm

    So I joined an internet provider and have been sold on four times without my permission or being asked.
    The politicians have done the same with my birthright. I am just a commodity to be banded between controlling interests at their will for their benefit, never mine. I am an aphid being milked by ants.

  22. 22 Mark king 29/12/2011 at 12:57 pm

    I am an Englishman! The only union I am part of is with Scotland. Wales. And Northern Ireland. This also makes me British. I am not and will never be a European! I will not be bound or obey any European laws or treaties!


Comments are currently closed.



Enter your email address below

The Harrogate Agenda Explained

Email AM

Bloggers for an Independent UK

AM on Twitter

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

STOR Scandal

Autonomous Mind Archive