Sunset

Regular readers will have noticed a paucity of blog posts here for the last week and a half.  I can only apologise and explain the situation as it stands.

Over the last couple of years I had been very fortunate to be working in a role not far from home that afforded me the time and opportunity to read widely and blog on news and current affairs, with the ability to do this from the office.  Nothing lasts for ever and the role came to an end recently.

Unlike many people in the current economic climate I have been lucky enough to find my feet quickly with a new job in a new organisation, and for that I am really thankful. But as always there are swings and roundabouts, plusses and minuses.

The first problem is the nature of my work and my employer’s necessarily restrictive internet policy makes it nigh on impossible to spend time taking in the news then blogging observations from the office.  That immediately reduces my scope for blogging.  The second problem is that my day is much longer due to the 140 mile round trip to work each day (surprise surprise, public transport doesn’t go where I need to go, so I have to drive and swallow hard at the rising fuel price).

So when I finally get home after 7pm I’m ready to wind down and focus on family rather than tearing into the deceit, hypocrisy and rank stupidity of the entities and individuals who govern and influence our lives.

Publishing the occasional evening blog post and a couple of posts at the weekend won’t do this blog justice and won’t be enough for me.  So reluctantly I now need to consider if Autonomous Mind has run its course and will sit here in suspended animation hereafter.  It will be a wrench if it is because as you can tell from my posts I really do enjoy doing this.

It may be that circumstances allow me to find a way to resume blogging with the rate of output I have previously, or some kind blogger might allow me to grace their home with the occasional guest post now and again. But that remains to be seen.  I suppose we will just have to see how things pan out over the next few days before making a final decision.

In the meantime, thanks for your visits and comments here. I hope you will continue to read my favourite blogs listed in the roll on the right and give encouragement to those excellent bloggers who continue to analyse and inform.

AM

50 Responses to “Sunset”


  1. 1 Brian J. BAKER 16/03/2011 at 12:40 pm

    Dear AM

    I do a 100mile round trip every day by publice transport!!!! That unfortunately is because I lost my license due to totting up. Did you know you can collect 5 points and a criminal record for bumping into someone in the car park. No damage but reported to the poice which I didn’t as there was no injuries. I fu87ing hate this regime. The state wants to criminalize all its citizens, its the cheap way to solve crime.

    I’ve only recently been viewing your blog and enjoy it very much.
    I hope you enjoy your new role.

  2. 2 Grumpy Old Man 16/03/2011 at 12:52 pm

    Shame you have to cease blogging, but family must come first. Thanks for providing an entertaining and thought-provoking read, and hope you can find a way back sometime.

  3. 3 Gawain Towler 16/03/2011 at 12:56 pm

    Hmmm…. Desperate times AM, desperate times. Surely you could go by bicycle?

    Be that as it may, you are welcome to guest over at EE is you feel the need.

  4. 4 The Pedant-General 16/03/2011 at 1:03 pm

    :-(

    You’ve done a great deal of good work here, not least – and this really is a rarity in bloggers – real original research, not just derivative MSM-bashing.

    You will be very very much missed.
    That said, you are definitely making the right decision: look after your family and yourself first. Your readership will cope…

    Best of luck

  5. 5 Hugh Bicheno 16/03/2011 at 1:13 pm

    Gonna miss you. All the very best in your new endeavour.

  6. 6 Tufty 16/03/2011 at 1:31 pm

    First of all, congratulations on the new job.

    Secondly, I’m an avid blog reader who likes and admires your blog. I’m not too fussed about frequent posting. If you decide it’s feasible, then heavily reduced blogging wouldn’t worry me. I’d still make regular visits to what I regard as a quality blog. Family comes first though – I fully understand that too.

  7. 7 Fay Tuncay 16/03/2011 at 1:33 pm

    I’ll miss you AM. Good luck and thank you.

  8. 8 Captain Ranty 16/03/2011 at 1:34 pm

    We lose all the good ones.

    I will miss your blogging, AM.

    Stay well, and come back if you can.

    CR.

  9. 9 right_writes 16/03/2011 at 1:35 pm

    I haven’t been visiting long, and we disagree on some issues, but it has been interesting and informative, in a word excellent.

    Good luck with your new job AM.

  10. 10 James morrison 16/03/2011 at 1:36 pm

    Really really sorry to hear that this might be the end of AM – I have only recently discovered the site, but will miss it terribly if it goes.

    I completely understand the situation you are in. I would love to have the time to write a blog of my own but the day job and the family come first (and not in that order!) so I rely on the likes of you to vent my spleen for me! :-)

    If you do relocate to guest posting elsewhere, please be sure to put a note on this site to tell us where!

    In the meantime, I’ll keep the RSS active in case you do continue to blog – at whatever rate – and I really hope you do!

    Cheers!!
    Jim

  11. 11 The Gray Monk 16/03/2011 at 1:44 pm

    I’ve faced this choice a couple of times and ended up keeping it going as best I could. For one thing it gave me a place to blow off the steam that builds up with the frustrations of dealing with the deceit, lies and incompetence on the daily round …

  12. 12 WitteringWitney 16/03/2011 at 1:45 pm

    AM: Really sorry to read the above, however I can understand the choice you face. Family and work must come first, however if you are looking for a ‘temporary home’ now and again, you have an open invitation at my place.

  13. 13 Nick Blitz 16/03/2011 at 1:47 pm

    As a mere recent reader of your blog – brought to my attention by Martin Brumby – then I urge you to abandon any idea of closing it, as a consequence of your recent change of employer.

    Frankly, in the short time I’ve been a reader of your blog, then it seemed that there was a distinct surfeit of materal cominng my way. It will do you no harm, and NEED NOT be detrimental to the blog, for you to publish both less, by volume & by frequency. Let the emphasis be on greater quality rather than quantity.

    There is little harm in opening up your site -as per Martin’s recent blogs- to those guests who come well-placed to provide intelligent, credible & well-researched input. Along with your own input, then this will maintain the valuable kickigs given to those who have us variously, by the nose, balls & wallet.

    Good luck with your new means of wallet-filling …even if the benefit is mitigated by increased fuel consumption, which inadvertently adds greater marginal, positive contributions to HM Govt’s spending capacity!

    It’s not ALL ‘win-win’!

    Good Luck – ‘Break a Leg’!

  14. 14 David Jones 16/03/2011 at 1:56 pm

    Good that you landed on your feet but a real shame about the blogging. I’ll keep you on the reader and see what develops.

  15. 15 Liz Elliot-Pyle 16/03/2011 at 2:09 pm

    Dearest Autonomous One,
    What a terrible shame if we were to lose you. I have really missed you blogs over the past few days.
    I do understand how time consuming it must be to garner all the information that you do garner – I spend hours each day just reading various blogs!
    I do hope you wont rush in to closing down altogether, and your fans will just have to get used to fewer posts.
    Bummer of a commute though!
    all the best, Liz x

  16. 16 Bill 16/03/2011 at 2:10 pm

    Did you ‘find the job’ or did it ‘find you’?
    Stranger things have happened!!

    Whatever please blog when you can as your mind is too valuable a tool to be left rotting during a 140 mile road trip. That’s an impressive ‘carbon footprint’… now here’s Huhne’s e-mail address?

  17. 17 Longrider 16/03/2011 at 2:39 pm

    If you merely want to guest post occasionally, then let me know.

  18. 18 kenomeat 16/03/2011 at 3:51 pm

    I hope you can find a way to continue AM. You have been an inspiration.

  19. 19 john savage 16/03/2011 at 4:12 pm

    Thanks and good luck
    js.

  20. 20 Messenger 16/03/2011 at 5:33 pm

    Soory to see you go- hope you will keep commenting and perhaps doing an occasional guest post when you have time.

  21. 21 jameshigham 16/03/2011 at 6:58 pm

    This is an issue for a few people right now and I’m puzzled why time seems more constrained in 2011 than in 2006. I was actually working far longer in 2006 and yet I blogged. Now I’m having a hell of a time just getting posts out.

    It really is a puzzle.

  22. 22 Stevie M 16/03/2011 at 7:37 pm

    Sorry to hear this as I have only just discovered your blog and enjoy it immensely. Understand the job and travel issues as I have been there and done that myself. Good luck in the future – if suspension is the decision – and perhaps we will all see you again in a few years. The world will still need your incisive mind then.

  23. 23 Chris 16/03/2011 at 9:17 pm

    I’m sorry to read you are thinking about giving up. I haven’t always agreed with posting here but they have been extremely interesting and well written. I’ve attempted to start blogging on a number of occasions but found it to be difficult due to time constraints of work and family – so my feeble attempts have failed. I admire those who have made it further.

    And the other priorities really have to come first – we need the money and the family.

    If you are open to suggestions then I would propose keeping the blog open and blogging as and when you can. I would, for example, love to see the met office series continued even if only at weekends or as and when updates are due.

    The top 5 could become a top 20 for the week and so on.

    Good luck.

  24. 24 Pavlov's Cat 16/03/2011 at 9:31 pm

    That would be a Hella shame, to knock it on the head completely.

    Be sad to see you go

    PC

  25. 25 Chairman of Selectors 16/03/2011 at 10:29 pm

    AAAARRRGGGHHHH. This is horrendous news. I’m sorry if this sounds slightly lame but your blog is the first thing I read when I get into the office. You perfectly articulate those things in Blighty that irk me. I am gutted you are going to have to finish up. I was hoping you could monetise your blog sufficiently to go full time but it is not to be. Thoroughly depressing. I wish you all the very best.

  26. 26 TheBoilingFrog 16/03/2011 at 10:52 pm

    I hope AM has not run its course, this has been a brilliant blog. However I fully understand the reasons if you decide to ‘wind down’.

    Your blog being dormant will be a sad loss, but obviously family life etc has to come first. I hope though that in the future you are able to continue in one form or another.

    Many thanks AM

    TBF

  27. 27 Derek Reynolds 17/03/2011 at 6:43 am

    As the Sun sets for one, it rises for another. It’s never really gone, and it has the propensity to return.

    Good luck with the new phase, hope the travelling is somehow re-arranged and look forward to a new Sunrise sometime.

  28. 28 meltemian 17/03/2011 at 8:55 am

    Like everyone else I would be sorry to see you go, perhaps you could manage to keep going on an occasional post? I know how difficult that would be – all that time to think during the commute is bound to give you many topics to ‘rant’ about, more than you can cope with posting!
    Keep the money coming in and the family happy, that’s obviously the most important thing. Whatever you decide we’ll understand.

  29. 29 Stuck-Record 17/03/2011 at 9:06 am

    Terrific blog. Journalism, not churnalism.

    You will be missed.

  30. 30 Fire Horse 17/03/2011 at 9:53 am

    This is probably my favourite blog! Personally I do not mind this blog going “part-time” i.e. less regular as what you do post will be informative and generally right on target. Is there any chance of keeping the blog going even if it is at irregular intervals, as you may find that you are able to blog regularly again sooner than you think?

  31. 31 Peter Whale 17/03/2011 at 10:08 am

    Best of luck AM, family comes first. Look forward to your guest posts.

  32. 32 Autonomous Mind 17/03/2011 at 10:13 am

    Thanks to everyone who has left a comment and those kind bloggers who have offered me guest posts on their excellent sites.

    I’m not really one for hyperbole, so it is no exaggeration to say I have been overwhelmed by the generosity of the comments here. If the blog can still add value and interest despite such a reduced rate of output then I will do my best to keep it going.

    One reader emailed to ask if I might turn this into a team blog with several contributors, which was an interesting idea. I think for now I would prefer to host guest posts as a way of keeping content flowing – but anyone who feels they would like to write regularly here on AM would be most welcome to get in touch by dropping me an email at:

    autonomousmind@mail.com

    I will try to get a post out later today. Thanks again.

  33. 33 Peter Maxwell 17/03/2011 at 10:51 am

    It would be sad to lose you on the blogosphere, so even if you can only manage a reduced rate of output, you will still continue to add value and interest. It’s your quality, not quantity that counts.

  34. 34 Tom Paine 17/03/2011 at 11:19 am

    Can I add my blog, the Last Ditch, to the available outlets for your creativity? The number of “guest posting” offers here is a kind of blogging award in its own right. Congratulations and good luck with the new job.

    As I have remarked elsewhere, the multi-author blog is probably the future for political blogging anyway. As you have found, solo blogging is wonderful until life intrudes. It’s a hierarchy of needs issue, I guess.

  35. 35 anglichan 17/03/2011 at 12:15 pm

    I agree with Tufty.

  36. 36 Uncle Badger 17/03/2011 at 1:53 pm

    I’ve only just read this sad news – and for a similar reason: pressure of work.

    I think all your readers will understand the time blogging of this quality calls for. I have trouble trying to keep up with the handful I read – writing one must be a Herculean task.

    Why not just post occasionally? Thoughtful words from you would be a talisman against the stream of logorrhoea from the Twits and if your posts were fewer, it wouldn’t be the end of the world.

  37. 37 The Man With Many Chins 17/03/2011 at 4:04 pm

    Good luck with the new job AM. I hope you can find time to do the occasional post, as your blog was always high up on my list of “first reads” of the day.

    I completely understand where you are coming from on having the time to blog, I have been trying, and failing quite poorly to get mine going for the last couple of months!

    All the best

    Scott

  38. 38 Span Ows 17/03/2011 at 5:52 pm

    AM! What a pity but family (and life!) come first, always!

    Not sure if anyone has mentioned it as I haven’t read all the comments but AM, please don’t take the blog down: as you say, let it “sit here in suspended animation hereafter”. I say this because one or two others have had the same life changes and have deleted/removed their blogs!! All those posts, all those comments, I can’t understand why they would do that.

    Good health and good luck!

  39. 39 Span Ows 17/03/2011 at 6:00 pm

    P.S. just had a thought! 140 mile round trip commute?! My god man, think how you will add to this terrible man made global warming I’ve heard so much about!

    (runs away)

  40. 40 MartinGAtkins 17/03/2011 at 6:54 pm

    Over the last few weeks I’ve become a regular visitor here and enjoyed the ambiance of your fine venue.

    Now you decide to just bugger off.

    How am I supposed to exercise my intellect? Start modeling ships out of matchsticks? Perhaps I could whittle an image of Elvis Presley out of an old tree stump ‘cos I sure can’t get him right using origami.

    Never mind about me, you just go ahead and focus on your family and career.

    Thanks for all the work you’ve put in and I hope to see some musings from you perhaps when your commitments allow.

    Now I’m going down the pub to start a fight and it will all be your fault.

  41. 41 Mike Spilligan 17/03/2011 at 7:07 pm

    Like many others I’m hoping that you can manage an occasional posting as your blog has been quite distinctive. Best wishes.

  42. 42 Devil's Kitchen 17/03/2011 at 8:40 pm

    I would be honoured if you ever felt like gracing The Kitchen with your posts. Just drop me a line…

    DK

  43. 43 Autonomous Mind 17/03/2011 at 8:54 pm

    Thanks again for the kind offers of guesting on other blogs. If AM does go then I will definitely take up the offers. I really appreciate it.

  44. 44 Paul 17/03/2011 at 9:50 pm

    Why not write for Anorak? A bigger audience and PA photos are at your disposal…

    Love your stuff.

  45. 45 David C 17/03/2011 at 10:37 pm

    Good luck with the job – maybe you’ll be able to ‘work from home’ occasionally once you’ve settled in. I hope we won’t lose you altogether.

  46. 46 LJ Hills 18/03/2011 at 3:31 pm

    Dear AM
    I grieve for the loss of your selections which kept my faith that one can’t fool all of the people all of the time, that independence of mind and critical thinking will save the day again, once the various idiocies that humankind is prone to, fail. Thank you. Please an occassional blog is better than none and I am sure you will need to vent the thoughts 140 miles has allowed you to chew over, once family time and personal time have been seen to.

  47. 47 alfredtheordinary 19/03/2011 at 2:06 am

    I just ask that you keep posting as and when. OK, there will be long gaps, but please don’t stop. However, the family must come first.

  48. 48 mat 19/03/2011 at 8:18 am

    Hi AM good luck with the job and hope it all pans out ! and hope to see you still adding yer incisive skills to other blogs when you get a chance !

  49. 49 Westie 24/03/2011 at 6:49 pm

    As a new reader of AM I hope you will continue to write your blog as I’ve found this site to be very well done both in subject and in responses…something that is rare here in the states. Congratulations on the new employment hope all goes well and thank you for your good work here!


  1. 1 Longrider » Guest Posting Trackback on 17/03/2011 at 4:53 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Enter your email address below

The Harrogate Agenda Explained

Email AM

Bloggers for an Independent UK

AM on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

STOR Scandal

Autonomous Mind Archive