One week weather check

There are a number of weather forecasters who publish a five to seven day look ahead at local and regional weather.

In previous comment threads over recent months there have been several references to weather forecasts adjusting significantly over the five day lead time.  So this blog is carrying out its own, albeit unscientific, ‘weather test’ to compare forecasters’ predictions over the next five days for the weather on Thursday.  I will be working in Birmingham that day, so that is the appropriate location as I can record the observed actual weather.

Each day between today and Thursday, this blog will screenshot of the online weather forecast for Thursday for Birmingham that are published on the following sites:

Met Office
Accuweather
BBC Weather
MetCheck
Weather Underground
MeteoGroup
Weather Outlook

Then on Thursday we will check the current observations against the forecasts and note if/how forecasts were adjusted as the day drew closer, and if possible discern which was the most accurate.

If you know where you will be on Thursday why not try it for yourself?  The more comparisons the better.

12 Responses to “One week weather check”


  1. 1 Dominic Allkins 03/07/2011 at 5:51 pm

    I’m hoping they’re all wrong for next Saturday. Weather looks grim and I’m getting married.

    Any chance you can swing something for me AM??

    Cheers

  2. 2 Time Traveller 03/07/2011 at 5:58 pm

    An interesting idea. I’ll do the same for Eastbourne.

    It can’t be any less scientific than a Met Office forecast can it?

  3. 3 Autonomous Mind 03/07/2011 at 6:25 pm

    I wish I could Dominic… Best wishes for next Saturday. I hope the day turns out nice and your wedding is a wonderfully happy occasion.

    TT, thanks for that. I’m taking a screenshot each day of what the forecast is for Thursday from each of the seven outlets.

  4. 4 Grumpy Old Man 03/07/2011 at 6:39 pm

    I can do Folkstone/Ashford – I live half way between them.

  5. 5 Autonomous Mind 03/07/2011 at 6:57 pm

    Excellent, thanks GOM.

  6. 6 Dominic Allkins 04/07/2011 at 5:43 am

    Thanks AM.

    I’ll do Bicester for you.

  7. 7 James Morrison 04/07/2011 at 9:43 am

    I hope to be able to do Woking, Surrey for you…

  8. 9 Brian J. BAKER 04/07/2011 at 11:27 am

    I work in Malvern and live in Craven Arms Shropshire but in the Clun Valley which has its own weather system, frequently wrong on the BBC web site even though the monitor station is 5 miles down the road.

  9. 10 Autonomous Mind 04/07/2011 at 7:51 pm

    Thanks again all. Don’t forget to save your screenshots today.

  10. 11 jameshigham 05/07/2011 at 4:46 pm

    You keep at ’em, AM.


Comments are currently closed.



Enter your email address below

The Harrogate Agenda Explained

Email AM

Bloggers for an Independent UK

AM on Twitter

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

STOR Scandal

Autonomous Mind Archive