We will remember them

6 Responses to “We will remember them”


  1. 1 David Jones 10/11/2013 at 11:29 am

    Yes.

    But I think it is “nor the years condemn” not “not”.

  2. 2 maureen gannon 10/11/2013 at 2:21 pm

    As I watch the Queen I cry, as I remember uncles who came home from POW camps of not seeing my father for the duration .

    Then the politico’s lay their wreaths I see Cameron and Blair and my heart freezes between these two they have destroyed what was fought for Freedom and love of country ,allowing a sovereign power to govern us , and not a bullet fired .

    I then watch the men who march past their faces etched in rememberance with true dignity . not rehearsed like those two charlatans.

  3. 3 The Gray Monk 10/11/2013 at 2:22 pm

    We will remember them. Including Sgt. Henry Nelson Heron, RGA, 36th Ulster Division (1915 – 1919) and A/B Neville Gray Cox, RN (1940 – 1946) among the many who survived, the first badly scarred from wounds at the Somme in 1916, the other mentally scared from his experiences in several major engagements and finally the liberation of Burma in Coastal Forces.

  4. 4 Brian J. Baker 10/11/2013 at 2:30 pm

    Whilst travelling through the Alsace region a few years ago I stopped to look at a German first world war grave. In amongst the crosses in an immaculately kept cemetery were a number of graves marked with the Star of David. It is a sobering thought that not 15 years after the end of that conflict the Nazis came to power with the express air of eliminating Jewry from Europe. And it is also worth noting that this area of the Alsace was overrun by the Wehrmacht in the second world war and the Jewish graves remained untouched.

    Incidentally the European project likes to remind us that it is nearly 70 years of peace thanks to them. But I think it is more due to the fact that any future war would start with a big white flash in the sky followed by not much else is the real reason for peace.

  5. 5 Brian J. Baker 10/11/2013 at 2:34 pm

    Whilst on the subject of marines I remember my uncle telling me a story of how he was part of a group collecting Japanese soldiers from the jungles after the war ended. After taking them to a base camp run by diggers the Aus sergeant picked up a machine gun and shot the lot whilst directing my uncles crew where to get some food.

  6. 6 Robert 10/11/2013 at 5:29 pm

    I fear that the cemetery that you use in your illustration is not a British Commonwealth one. The gravestones are not to our pattern. I suspect it is American.


Comments are currently closed.



Enter your email address below

The Harrogate Agenda Explained

Email AM

Bloggers for an Independent UK

AM on Twitter

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

STOR Scandal

Autonomous Mind Archive