Taking back power and imposing discipline on our politicians

This is a subject to which I will turn my attention properly in the days to come.  But for now I offer this partial cross-post to remind readers that in order for the people to take back primacy we need to focus our power.  As Richard North has says in his thought provoking post:

To focus our power, we too need to adopt an ideology. In essence, we have one – one which underwrites the supremacy of the individual and positions the State as the servant, not the master. Referism – control over the budget – is a means by which we exercise our power. If there is a better way, I am open to offers.

The next question is: where do we start? The answer is here, on the blogosphere. We have a number of fine, independent blogs, written by independently-minded people. There is now a blog covering these – Independent Political Bloggers.

As if to underline their independence, I don’t always agree with everything that write.  But collectively, between us we reflect the views of our readers. If we did not, we would not have a readership. Now ask, from where does the BBC and the MSM get its power? Why do politicians listen to them, fear them and curry their favours? We are back to the numbers game.

Grow the independent political blogosphere. And if you have a view, start your own blog. We will support you. Want a voice? Either as reader or writer, or both, you have it … your call.

10 Responses to “Taking back power and imposing discipline on our politicians”


  1. 1 Alfred 28/05/2011 at 3:34 am

    Could we make this 13?

    I would add Helen’s excellent “Your Freedom and ours”

    http://yourfreedomandours.blogspot.com/

  2. 2 Derek 28/05/2011 at 11:12 am

    A well known saying: “United we stand – divided we fall”, except that united in clear vision we present an easy target. A scattered opponent pursuing a common aim is far more effective. May the many blogs live on, if not in plain view, then underground and interlinked.

  3. 3 mike cunningham 28/05/2011 at 9:19 pm

    To use a well-known phrase, authored by one whose English credentials are impeccable, “We few, we happy few, we band of bloggers.”

    My readership varies between very few and an occasional small but unruly crowd. My views, as can be seen and read, are of the Right-wing variety, and the only politician whose words I have trusted in the last twenty-seven years since my return from overseas was herself betrayed by those whom she considered nearest and dearest.

    If there should be a list, sign me up!

  4. 4 Ben 29/05/2011 at 12:38 pm

    You’ll need a better word though. I doubt “referism” will catch on.

  5. 5 jameshigham 30/05/2011 at 8:55 am

    I see, from the list, that I need to give up. What about multi-author blogs? Do they have a place too, AM?

  6. 6 jameshigham 31/05/2011 at 9:59 am

    Ben – might be so but referism will do for now. Hope it catches on.

  7. 7 kenomeat 31/05/2011 at 11:35 pm

    I’ve read the various posts about “referism” but am unclear as to how it is to be achieved. Why don’t we simply focus our energies on something that is achievable i.e massively increase UKIP’s vote. A big percentage increase for UKIP in the opinion polls could be enough to influence government attitudes to the EU. Ideas such as referism can come later.

  8. 8 Autonomous Mind 01/06/2011 at 11:13 am

    Forgive me James – I don’t know how I forgot to include those when I cut the list from EU Ref. Now happily added.

  9. 9 Autonomous Mind 01/06/2011 at 11:16 am

    Why would I want to see UKIP’s vote increased when it fails to further the ends I want to see achieved? Under Farage UKIP might increase its support a bit, but it would remain a one-man party moulded in his image following his personal agenda.

  10. 10 kenomeat 01/06/2011 at 1:52 pm

    AM – I think we’ve discussed UKIP before and I respect your position. However, a UKIP government (unlikely I know) would result in perhaps 80% of the aims of most right wing bloggers being met as opposed to zero percent under the coalition. I truly cannot see a viable alternative.


Comments are currently closed.



Enter your email address below

The Harrogate Agenda Explained

Email AM

Bloggers for an Independent UK

STOR Scandal

Autonomous Mind Archive